Chair's Message
Welcome to the Penn-Ohio Border Section of the American Chemical Society. The section includes Mahoning, Trumbull, and Columbiana counties in Ohio and Lawrence and Mercer counties in Pennsylvania. The active members are mainly faculty at the six campuses located in the area. Among the purposes of the Section, in cooperation with the national parent organization, are the advancement of chemistry as a profession, promotion of chemical research and education, and dissemination to the public of information on these subjects. Our meetings are open to the public. For more information, call any of the officers listed below.

Penn-Ohio Border Section Bylaws:
Updated 1/2015































Find your next chemistry job, pharmaceutical job, or biotech job at, the classifieds and careers site of Chemical & Engineering News. Chemjobs offers tools, resources, and expert career advice to help new and experienced chemists reach their professional goals.


The views and opinions expressed in this site are those of the Penn-Ohio Border Section. The American Chemical Society has not reviewed the contents of this site. The Penn-Ohio Border Section withholds all responsibility regarding this site. Please contact us with any questions or concerns. Thank you.




























Penn - Ohio Border Section of The American Chemical Society

Upcoming Events



2016 Newsletters

2015 Newsletters

2014 Newsletters

2013 Newsletters

2012 Newsletters

2011 Newsletters

2010 Newsletters

Local Academic Links

Chemistry Links

Chemical Abstracts Service  
Chemistry News Groups  
ACS Local Sections

Local Sections

ACS local section, Akron Ohio
ACS local section, Cleveland Ohio
ACS local section, Cincinnati Ohio
ACS local section, Columbus Ohio
ACS local section, Penn-York
ACS local section, Pittsburgh Pennsylvania
ACS local section, Erie Pennsylvania

Section Officers

Dr. Clovis Linkous
President/Chair-Elect, Penn-Ohio Border Section
Department of Chemistry
Youngstown State University
Youngstown, Ohio 44555

Dr. Kathryn Frantz
Secretary, Penn-Ohio Border Section
Department of Chemistry/Biology
Thiel College
Greenville, PA 16125
(724) 589-2113
Dr. Mike Serra
Treasurer, Penn-Ohio Border Section
Department of Chemistry Youngstown State Univ. Youngstown, OH 44555 (330)941-3667
Dr. Doris L. Zimmerman
Councilor, Penn-Ohio Border Section
1390 Waverly Drive, NW
Warren, OH 44483

Dr. Peter M. Smith
Alternate Councilor, Penn-Ohio Border Section
Department of Chemistry
Westminister College
319 S Market Street
New Wilmington, PA 16172

Members at large:
Dr. Anna Reinsel
Thiel College

Dr. Sherri Lovelace-Cameron Youngstown State Univ.

Dr. Susan Cramer
Grove City College